Home > Class information > This weekend’s coverage of Final Four

This weekend’s coverage of Final Four

April 2, 2010

Excellent work so far in the Final Four project. I look forward to seeing more! If you are working on a Soundslides audio slideshow, and want to link it to the blog, please give this a try. You will be uploading your slideshow to another Web site, called gotoeditor.com (it’s just a working site I use for student work like this). Alternatively, you can upload your “publish to the Web” folder to your own space on the MSU servers. If you’ve ever used that space, you’ll know how.

The instructions at gotoeditor.com tell you everything but the info for FTP-ing your show up to the site. If you want to do this, message me, and I’ll give you the password. It’s not something I want to post for the world to see. If you’ve never FTP-ed anything before, it may take a bit of instruction, but we can get through it. If you want to call me I can talk you through, or I can send instructions.

For those of you who have video, post it to the  YouTube journalismvideo channel using the password I gave in class. Again, if you missed that, message me. You can embed your video at the WordPress site once it’s on the YouTube channel.

For those of you going to Indy, I am still working on a live blog area for you, but if you don’t hear from me, post to the class blog! That’s easy, and you already know how to get to it. If you are going to use Twitter, send me a note and I’ll make sure we link to your twitter feed as well.

For photos, you can upload to Flickr if you want to post a lot of them, and we can link to a gallery from the site. Or you can upload individual photos here.

For those of you doing timelines and google maps, you can embed them right on the site, although I haven’t figured out how to embed an actual timeline in miniature. To embed a link to a dipity timeline, hit the “embed widget” button and it will give you embed code. When you enter your blog, switch to HTML before pasting your “embed code.” I’m including one here to show you.

To embed a google map, click on “Link” in the right corner, and get the embed code given. You might want to hit “custom” so you can make the map small — people can click for a larger version. Make sure you paste the code in the VISUAL editor, not the HTML one.  That’ll allow the google map to show up. Here’s an example:

Categories: Class information